Belgian-Congolese journalist Djia Mambu joins FESPACO selection committee


Kinshasa, April 31st, 2021 (CPA).- The general delegate of the Pan-African Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou (FESPACO), Alex Moussa Sawadogo, appointed the Congolese journalist Djia Mambu from among the eight members of the selection and definition committee of the program of the 27th edition of this event, according to a press release from this structure received on Tuesday at CPA.

According to this document, the choice of the animators of this committee was motivated by the concern for the general delegate to set up, this time, a selection committee made up of motivated professionals, whose skills and experience offer various looks perfectly embodying the ambitions of a Pan-African festival.

Apart from Congolese Djia Mambu, this new team includes Mozambican producer Pedro Pimenta, Senegalese art researcher and journalist Thierno Ibrahima Dia, Ethiopian curator and film critic Katarina, as well as Tunisian producer Lina Chabanne.

There is also the Madagascan Laza Razajanatovo, the creator and director of the festival  » Short film encounter  » from Madagascar and the Burkinabé Boubacar Sangaré and Guy Désiré Yaméogo, respectively doctoral student in law on the principle of territoriality and the construction of a unique space Francophone of cinema and audiovisual in Africa and teacher at the Higher Institute of Image and Sound of Ouagadougou (ISIS).

Djia Mambu, a writer and film critic

Journalist, film critic and writer, Djia Mambu is a member of the African Federation of Film Critics (FACC). She has collaborated with several editors including Agricultures, Africiné, TV5 Africa newscast and recently joined the programming committee of the Namur International Francophone Film Festival in Belgium (FIFF).

As a reminder, 2021 edition of FESPACO initially scheduled for February 27th to March 6th has been postponed to a later date following the COVID-19 health crisis and the call for submissions for films ends on March 31st, 2021.