North Kivu has exceeded 2,300 confirmed cases of Covid-19


Kinshasa, April 21nd, 2021 (CPA).- The province of Nord Kivu surpassed the threshold of 2,300 contaminated cases of Coronavirus (Covid-19) on Tuesday, registering 75 new confirmed cases, reports the daily bulletin of the technical secretariat of the national multisectoral response committee to the Covid-19 pandemic published on Wednesday at CPA.

This province of DRC has recorded a total of 2,339 confirmed cases of Covid-19 since the declaration of this epidemic. Of the 426 samples tested during the day of Tuesday, April 20th, 2021, 149 new confirmed cases of Covid-19 were notified throughout the country, including 75 in Nord Kivu, 33 in Kinshasa, 18 in Equateur, 16 in Haut-Lomami, 4 in Lualaba, 2 in Sud Kivu and 1 in Haut-Uele.

No new deaths have been reported among the confirmed cases across DRC. There was no new cure in the Covid treatment centers (CTC), or among the patients followed at home.

Since the declaration of the epidemic on March 10th, 2020, the cumulative number of cases is 29,233, including 29,232 confirmed cases and 1 probable case. In total, there have been 748 deaths so far and 26,108 people cured.

The same source indicates that as of Tuesday, April 20th, 2021, 157 new people have been vaccinated in 9 vaccination sites, including 54 at HJ Hospitals, 25 in Diamant, 20 at Ngaliema Clinic, 19 at Kinshasa Medical Center (CMK ), 11 at Kinshasa University Clinics (CUK), 10 in Vijana, 8 at Sino-Congolese Hospital (HSC), 6 at Saint Joseph Hospital and 4 in Monkole.

It also specifies that on April 19th, 2021, Monkole had vaccinated 6 people and not 7. This brings the total for that day to 95 and not 96. Since the start of vaccination in DRC, particularly in Kinshasa, on April 19th, 2021, with AstraZeneca vaccine, 252 people were vaccinated.

Covid-19 is free in the Democratic Republic of Congo, except for travelers who will have to pay 30 US dollars, it is recalled.

Twenty-three of the twenty-six provinces in DRC are affected by this epidemic. These are the provinces of Kinshasa (20,588 cases), Nord Kivu (2,339 cases), Haut-Katanga (1,933 cases), Kongo Central (1,679 cases), Sud Kivu (907 cases), Lualaba (849 cases), Ituri (285 cases), Tshopo (235 cases), Haut-Uele (149 cases), Equateur (80 cases), Maniema (42 cases), Nord Ubangi (40 cases), Haut-Lomami (38 cases), Kasaï Central (17 cases), Kwilu (9 cases), Sud-Ubangi (7 cases), Tanganyika (7 cases), Kasaï Oriental ( 7 cases), Bas-Uele (6 cases), Kwango (5 cases), Kasaï (5 cases), Tshuapa (3 cases) and Mai-Ndombe (2 cases). ACP/