107 new confirmed cases of Covid-19 recorded Thursday in the DRC


Kinshasa, May 29th, 2021 (CPA).– One hundred and seven (107) new confirmed cases of Covid-19 were recorded Thursday in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), out of 512 samples tested, including 102 in Kinshasa, 3 in Haut-Katanga, 1 in Ituri and 1 in North Kivu, reports the daily bulletin of the Technical Secretariat of the Multisectoral Committee for the Response to Covid-19, which reached the CPA on Friday. A new death has been recorded among the confirmed cases in Kinshasa. In addition, there were five (5) new healings in the Covid treatment centers (CTCo) and among the patients followed at home in Kinshasa.

Since the declaration of the epidemic on March 10, 2020, the cumulative number of cases is 31,386, including 31,385 confirmed cases and 1 probable case. In total, there were 782 deaths and 27,654 people cured. This same bulletin informs that since the start of vaccination in the DRC on April 19, 2021, with the AstraZeneca vaccine, 19,597 people have been vaccinated until May 25, 2021. The number of people vaccinated by province is as follows: 12,463 in Kinshasa; 3,979 in Haut-Katanga; 1,952 in North Kivu, 486 in Kongo Central; 427 in South Kivu and 290 in Lualaba. New vaccination sites are being rolled out. A total of 123 sites are operational out of the 480 planned.

The Covid-19 test is free in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, except for travelers who will have to pay 30 US dollars, it is recalled. Twenty-three of the twenty-six provinces in the DRC are affected by this epidemic.

These are the provinces of Kinshasa (21,716 cases), North Kivu (2,854 cases), Haut-Katanga (2,056 cases), Kongo Central (1,752 cases), South Kivu (921 cases), Lualaba (911 cases), Tshopo (316 cases), Ituri (316 cases), Haut-Uélé (209 cases), Equateur (84 cases), Haut-Lomami (49 cases), Maniema (42 cases), Nord-Ubangi (40 cases), Kasaï Central (30 cases), Kasaï Oriental (24 cases), Tanganyika (20 cases), Kasaï (14 cases), Kwilu (9 cases ), Sud-Ubangi (7 cases), Bas-Uélé (6 cases), Kwango (5 cases), Tshuapa (3 cases) and Maï-Ndombe (2 cases). ACP/Fng/nig