The governors of the forest provinces of the DRC called to get involved in the preparatory work for COP27


Kinshasa, June 27th, 2022 (CPA).- The Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Eve Bazaiba Masudi, on Friday called on the governors of the forest provinces to get involved in the preparatory work for the 27th Conference of the signatories of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (PRÉCOP27) that the DRC will host, from October 3rd to 5th, 2022.

The VPM Eve Bazaiba invited them to get more involved for the success of this great event which will allow the country to attract the spotlight of the world. She insisted on the fact that the natural resources of the Democratic Republic of Congo are at the heart of the current ecological transition and, from now on, at the center of the debate on the fight against climate change. “With forests that suck up more than 24.5 gigatonnes of CO2 per day, its biodiversity, its fresh water (67% of the total waters of the Congo Basin), its strategic minerals, the country of Patrice Emery Lumumba as a country-solution, needs to reclaim its climate and environmental leadership in the Congo Basin, in Africa and globally,” she said.

VPM Eve Bazaiba indicated that the DRC, as a country-solution, has three meanings, namely: the DRC is aware of the climate issues around its natural resources, it is committed to improving the governance of its natural resources and it demands fair compensation for the ecosystem services provided to the world by its forests, peatlands and others. As local authorities, the governors of the forest provinces must fully play their roles vis-à-vis the protection and improvement of the governance of the DRC’s natural resources in order to benefit everyone. of the Congolese population and also to the Congolese State which is weakened by the poor governance of its rich potential, she pointed out. The 11 forest provinces of the DRC concerned are North and South-Ubangi, Mai-Ndombe, Haut and Bas-Uélé, Mongala, Tshuapa, Tshopo, Kongo-Central and Equateur. ACP/