Accueil E-mail Téléphone ACP TV

CENI: no break in enrolment during the two public holidays

An enrolment office

Kinshasa, January 14th, 2023 (CPA).- The enrolment centres will remain operational during the two days declared public holidays and with pay in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), i.e. January 16th and 17th, 2023, reports the National Electoral Commission independent (CENI), in a press release submitted to CPA on Friday.  « The CENI informs the public that the registration centres will be open from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. local time in all the 10 provinces of the first operational area on the dates of January 16th to 17th, 2023″, underlines the communicated. The technical body of the elections invites, at the same time, the applicants meeting the required conditions to go to the registration centres of their respective jurisdictions to be enrolled. Furthermore, the CENI reminds the members of the registration centres « to strictly respect the identification and enrolment procedures, in particular the priority given to vulnerable people, the testimony of three people who have been previously enrolled, for any applicant who does not have no documents required », while insisting on free access to the registration centres.

The electoral calendar

The electoral calendar provides for the identification and registration of voters from December 24th, 2022 to March 17th, 2023. This operation will be carried out gradually in the various provinces and operational areas in DRC and abroad.  Thus, from December 24th, 2022 to January 24th, 2023, it is planned to identify and enrol voters in the provinces of Operational Area 1 (AO1), in particular Kongo central, Kinshasa, Kwango, Kwilu, Mai-Ndombe, Equateur, Mongala, Nord Ubangi and Tshuapa. As for the period from January 25th to February 23rd, 2023, it concerns the identification and registration of voters in AO2 which includes the provinces of Kasaï, Kasaï central, Kasaï Oriental, Lomami, Sankuru, Haut Lomami, Haut Katanga, Lualaba and Tanganyika, also including South Africa, Belgium and France.

Finally, the period from February 16th to March 17th concerns the identification and registration of AO3 voters with the provinces of Bas Uele, Ituri, Tshopo, Nord Kivu, Sud Kivu and Maniema, including Canada and the United States

Partagez via